50 km into the 300 kmMy second randonneuring brevet was this weekend. The 300 km ride was harder than the 200 km. Who knew? Several ridiculous hill climbs on Promontory, Thornton, and Woodside humbled me out in the valley. The photo to the right is me happily rolling through White Rock and here’s one of me plugging up the 19% grade of Thornton in Chilliwack. Painful. Sublime. Very light sprinkles for the last few hours but otherwise comfortable weather. Including three control stops, two pee breaks, and a coffee/yogurt break, it took me 13 hours, 40 minutes to complete and I’m quite happy with how I rode, drank, ate, my prep, and how the bike performed. Plenty of nice people in the club to chat with and learn from. The rain and wind were torrential riding home afterward, but the belly full of nachos and beer took the edge off.

